jump to navigation

Food Around The World June 18, 2007

Posted by Zara's Mama in myself, trips.
trackback

Oh boy, Miabambina and Ms Fairface tagged me on the subject I’m most passionate about.. food. I love to eat, I love good food, and this is one thing I’m willing to spend. I have so many things I like, I don’t know where to start…

So I’ll stick to the title : Food Around The World, literally, what more with my recent trip to Singapore, I made two delicious ‘international’ discoveries.

In Singapore, I was shopping for something to eat for breakfast on my last night, and I saw this pot of yogurt for sale in Market Square, Tangling Mall. I was more interested in the terracotta pot which was holding the yogurt, so I bought it, even though it was S$8 per pot (1 serving). I chose the one with honey, the way I like my yogurt.

The following morning, when I scoped the first spoon into the mouth, mama mia, what a heavenly sensation!! I had never tasted yogurt this delicious before. It was very creamy and smooth, and the honey taste was very distinctive (in Chinese you’ll say it’s very ‘hiong’ or ‘siang’). I normally gobbled up my breakfast because of hunger, but this time, I slowly tasted every spoon of it; letting the euphoric taste linger. Too bad, my ice box was full, or I would have bought a few pots for later enjoyment back home. This is the La Fermiere yogurt from France. If you haven’t tasted it and is a great fan of yogurt, you have to try this!! I heard, it’s one of the best yogurt in the world (from doing a google search).

Too bad, it’s not available in Malaysia, or I would have gladly paid RM20 a pot for the occasional indulgence.

The other gastronomic discovery is the zhongs from Hong Kong. A nice Hong Kong colleague of mine brought two from Maxim for me when we met in Singapore. We had one over the weekend and boy it was delicious!!

The rice was first wrapped with two pieces of bamboo leaves, then tightly bundled up with lotus leaves. The zhong has both the fragrance of the leaves. It was big enough for two big eaters like myself and Daddy, filled with pieces of roast duck (which I’m a big fan), lentils (I think that’s what it was), a nice salted egg yolk, a piece of lard (which we discarded), and a whole scallop. Oh boy.. what a treat it was.

Food Around The World

The zhong and the momento of the orgasmic experience

Now I’m a convert for Hong Kong zhong and french yogurt! Can’t wait for the weekend to arrive so we can share the next zhong; and I’m looking forward to my next trip to Singapore for more La Fermiere orgasmic experience. Sorry yeah, these 2 items are not from my home town and I’m not sticking to the original tag.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ . ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~  

Here’s the trail of the tag 

Mybabybay loves Asam Laksa from Penang, Malaysia
JustMyThoughts loves Penang Char Koay Teow
My Lil Venture loves Laksa Sarawak
Monterssorimum loves Teluk Intan Chee Cheong Fun
Chinnee loves Melaka Wan Tan Mee
PeimunLeah loves Hakka Lei Cha
Hui Sia
Jonamum
Karen loves Pan Mee
Something about Lai loves Crispy duck skin from China
Simple American loves Cheese Enchiladas
Nicole Tan loves Char Tau Kueh
Velverse loves Otak-otak
Kenny Ng loves Jawa Mee
Fatty Poh loves Nasi Dagang Kelantan
wmw loves Kuih Tutu
Lyrical Lemongrass loves Asam Boi
Pinkelle loves Mee Siput and Keropok Lekor
Ms Fair Face loves BBQ Sambal Stingray
Mia Bambina loves Chicken & Beef Pie
Zara’s Mama discovered Hong Kong Zhong and La Fermiere Yogurt

I would like to tag :
Malaika’s Mummy
Mom of Cairo
Vien
Ah Ben
And Baby Shern

Comments»

1. chinnee - June 18, 2007

yum yum…..chinese dumplings has always been my favourite !! How nice to get varieties from other ethnics / countries…

2. may - June 18, 2007

you make the simple bak zhang and yoghurt sound soooo interesting! especially the french yoghurt. $8 a pop sounds a bit on the high end, but no price is too much fo something that delicious, yes? cool terracotta pot, too.

3. Vien - June 19, 2007

I did this tag few months ago.

4. Simple American - June 19, 2007

I want to try those also. And that container is really neat. Definitely a keeper.

5. ben - June 19, 2007
6. Ms Fair Face - June 19, 2007

ooh dumplings! My hubby’s fav! I love how my grandma used to wrap them up and she made the most delicious dumplings with extremely generous fillings.

7. mom of cairo - June 19, 2007

ooo dumplings, just nice for today’s festival hehehe. i miss the ones made by my aunt in KL… cant brin ginto spore anymore, darn!

oh thanks for tagging me but i got tagged by jazzmint in may oredi hehehe

http://momofcairo.blogspot.com/2007/05/tag-food-around-world.html

8. shern's mom - June 19, 2007

yogurt in terracotta pot. how interestin. finish up the yogurt and there, a pot. thanks for taggin..

9. huisia - June 19, 2007

next time i must try the zhong in HK..

come and visit my new home : –
http://quinsiya.com/blog/

10. amanda - June 19, 2007

I feel hungry just by looking at those pic..how’s ur kid anyway

11. JY - June 19, 2007

drooling already…

12. Cheryl - June 19, 2007

Wah… I m going to singapore with Jazzmint this week. Shall go try the yogurt… Tangling mall, here I come (just to get yogurt *LOL*)

13. michelle - June 19, 2007

Zhong jit is coming. Wow u sure know where to dig for good food around the world.

14. 1+2mom - June 20, 2007

Happy Dumpling festival!!
food..yummy..b4 we having our children, we usually go try new food around us. Now, with them we scare some of the food they dun like so we didnt go try any stall food but the restaurant food we did.
The yorgut look so yummy.

15. misha's mum - June 20, 2007

yeah the Zhong from Maxim is nice .. .. you shd try those from Lei Garden too 🙂

16. 2littlefellas' mom - June 21, 2007

that ‘zhong’ look so tempting. i must try it next year..not sure whether i can get a colleague to send it over…hmmm…i guess not hor?- it’s non-halal.

definitely keeping La Fermiere in mind when i go down to SGP.


Leave a comment

  • test

  • test