jump to navigation

Zara’s Speech Development September 25, 2007

Posted by Zara's Mama in development, language, Zara.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Zaria was playing, and lost her balance. She fell down and knocked her head. While comforting Zaria, I asked Zara : “Why didn’t you catch meimei when she fell?”
“Because.. because….”
Me : “Because what?”
Zara : “I’m not super man” o.O
Me : “You don’t have to be super man to catch meimei”
Zara : “Because.. because.. (probably working on a better excuse) I’m not a safe-ter.” 😐
Fair enough I guess.

She woke up at 7am.
Zara : “Mummy I want milk”
I wanted to sleep for another 10mins so I told her to wait for a little longer.
Zara : “But, Mummy I want milk!”
Reluctantly, I got up : “Ok, we go she-she (Chinese : pee) first.”
Zara : “Mummy, I’m tired, don’t want to she-she.”
Me : *About to lay back down on the bed* “Since you are tired, then you have your milk later then.”
Zara : “I’m tired, but not that tired, mummy. I want milk. o.O”

She has also started using, “anyway”, “Oh Well”, “It’s like”, e.g. :
When I don’t entertain her when she comes to the study “Anyway, I’m going down stairs now.”
When one of her toy doesn’t work “Oh well, never mind. I’ll do this then.”
When asked why she likes the potong ice cream “It’s like ermm.. very creamy, errm.. cold and sweet”

I don’t know how she picks up some of the words she uses and applies in her day to day speech. Maybe it’s from us who speak the Queen’s English Manglish at home, maybe it’s from TV (my limit is 3 shows a day, and no, we don’t have Astro or cable TV at home. She only watches my selections of DVDs or VCDs).

She uses “Me”, “I am”, “You are” pretty well these days. She doesn’t speak that well all the time. Nowadays, she is trying to use feminine and muscular form in her speech… so some of the phrases can come out like this :
She name is lamb
He name is Mr Blue

And then past tense for her means adding “ed’ at the end :
The car spoil-led
I stand-ded on the naughty corner
The milipede died-ded.

It’s fun to see her development in this area, and sometimes it’s amusing too. Daddy and I can never have enough of this.

Comments»

1. SASHA - September 25, 2007

Me first?

I like the way she cakaped..just like me.

Muahahahah

2. may - September 25, 2007

I laugh-ded at some of her speech! not too tired to have milk indeed… hehe!

3. Jo-N - September 25, 2007

It must be fun for you to watch her, especially when you are tired and you need someone to cheer you up.

Joanne

4. laundryamah - September 25, 2007

o.O!!!!

5. ehon - September 25, 2007

hahahahahahahahaha!!

wahh.. mummy u so lazyy! hahahahahahaha. so pandai she use all the past tense alrdy. she’s gonna be the youngest blogger one day!! 😀

6. Giddy Tiger - September 25, 2007

Has she started demanding for things yet? Anytime now..

7. michelle - September 25, 2007

Hahaha…I like her “I am not a superman” part….cool. How come you get to ask the “why” ???

8. kerry - September 25, 2007

Zara’s sooo advanced in her speech. Chloe’s kinda slow. However, she’d started “negotiating” with us particularly during punishment time using her limited vocabulary… :p

9. mom2ashley - September 25, 2007

so cute to hear her talk! and reason with adults.

10. LB - September 25, 2007

LOL!!! Pretty nifty!
I died-ed LOL!

11. Zaza - September 25, 2007

anyway she so cute la.. i laughed and laughed!!

12. shern's mom - September 25, 2007

woi..beri cleber hor this lenglui..
safe-ter?
cute-nya..

13. jazzmint - September 26, 2007

haha she really never fail to entertain us, not only the Low family

14. Simple American - September 26, 2007

After she drinks her milk, she can she she even better.

That reminds me of a trip to Disney. My niece was Zara’s age, but only spoke Cantonese at the time. Some how everyone stepped away and left the lass with me. She told me she has to she-she and I had no clue what she wanted to do. I thought she was making choo choo sounds like a train, which we could hear in the distance. I started playing choo choo train with her. She was laughing (and dancing) at my antics. Finally her mother returned to save the girl from an accident. keke

15. Mama BoK - September 26, 2007

She is a very smart one alright..!

16. Eileen - September 26, 2007

Hahaha…the way she talk is so cute, and she’s very smart!

17. sesame - September 26, 2007

At this age, they pick up languages very quickly. Very hard to determine where. I think mine pick up a lot from watching TV and it’s not like he watches a lot of it. And of course, from us. So that’s why gotta hold our tongues even when we’re very angry… *sigh*

18. Irene - September 26, 2007

I so love the way she speaks.

19. Etcetera~Mummy - September 27, 2007

She’s quick with her getaway excuse huh… Very good. That just shows her brain is constantly developing….:P Smart gal.

20. a-moms-diary - September 27, 2007

zara never fails to amuse me…

21. chanelwong - September 28, 2007

I am always speechless when you tell us about Zara’s conversation..haha…

22. debbie - September 29, 2007

Zara is so cute and getting smart in entertain you. hahaha…

23. nadia - October 2, 2007

Haha! She’s sooo cute! I’m always amused with the way she talks.. 😉

24. zaria - September 2, 2008

Im Zaria


Leave a Reply

  • test

  • test

