jump to navigation

Hands Free Breast Feeding May 9, 2007

Posted by Zara's Mama in breastfeeding, notable, Zaria.
trackback

I hosted a 3hours morning workshop for 7 days recently. I had to make sure speakers arrive on time, participants have no problem joining, Q&A are jotted down etc. Thank goodness for technology, they were all done through audio conference and virtual meeting room, making it possible for me to attend at home.

However, being the host and with all the coordinations to do (and all the problems related to logistic to solve), I have to be at my desk more than 3hours in the morning. What happened when Zaria needed her milk after her morning bath?

Thank goodness I invested in My Brest Friend, a nursing pillow which can be strepped around your waist.

My Brest Friend

This is my best friend.

I know I shouldn’t do this hands free, but when worn while seated close to the table, it prevented her from rolling down from the other end of the pillow. Now with this, I could feed Zaria hands free, still able to do my typing, notes taking, talking.
My Brest Friend

(oh boy, doesn’t this sound like a PPP/sponsored post? Unfortunately it’s not.)

Comments»

1. shoppingmum - May 10, 2007

Haha! Yes, sounds like paid post. 🙂 I got a nursing pillow, but not practical when baby grows up. It’s too thick and they are above my breasts. 😛 Can’t latch on properly.

2. LB - May 10, 2007

Ok, I tried not to stare at the other one, so I must be considered a good lad, eh?

ZMM : Nothing to stare la..

3. Vien - May 10, 2007

My ‘brest friend’ was my boppy. It is an ingenious design! 😀

ZMM : Boppy probably have more usage than this. At least when you are done with breast feeding, you can still find ways to use it.

4. rhiannon huang - May 10, 2007

I can’t use this because my little guy will only nurse with me laying down next to him!
He is so naughty!!
I did use my boppy pillow for the first month though.

ZMM : Your little guy very fussy… 😛 Zaria prefers me to lie down next to her too, but she doesn’t mind this, because it’s not as hot as when I have to cradle her to feed.

5. Irene - May 10, 2007

I sooooo love mine – it’s a jolly jumper i think. How else am I going to blog hop?

ZMM : Yeah yeah.. without this.. it’s hard to blog hop, especially when baby is young and you need to nurse all the time.

6. beckysmum - May 10, 2007

I think last time I used nursing pillow like shoppingmum. I don’t like it. May be next time can try this!

ZMM : Some nursing pillow are soft and comfy, it’ll not be suitable for the way I’m using mine.

7. 2littlefellas' mom - May 10, 2007

hahaha….i can’t stop laughing. This is something I never think off….multitasking while breastfeeding- pretty impressive 🙂

ZMM : Hey, you used to drive and nurse at the same time right? That’s an even more difficult a task. 😛

8. FireHorse - May 10, 2007

Ha ha, we mom’s always manage to come up with ingenius ideas hor? Good for you, I link you can or not? Actually I link you ady lah but if say no I’ll take it off :O)

ZMM : Yeah.. we have to be creative.. 🙂 Thanks for linking me. I’ll link you also.

9. domestic rat - May 10, 2007

I didn’t realised it’s sturdy enough to support baby.

ZMM : This one is sturdy enough. B’cos it’s filled with very thick strong sponge.

10. huisia - May 10, 2007

Haha..at first i also thought is paypost.
Hey, i really salute you le..really can multi-tasking!
You did give me another idea~~ thanks!!

ZMM : For you.. you’ll need something like this, or else, how to continue to do your PPP?

11. anggie - May 10, 2007

Multitasking … , i never try this nursing pillow b4, it’s seem ‘mummy best friend’… i use normal pillow only when i breastfeed lastime.
Zara’s mama … u r good lei…. 🙂

ZMM : normal pillow is good for normal usage.. but if you really want to work on the computer while nursing, I think this is a good one to invest.

12. nadia - May 10, 2007

Foowah! Breastfeeding while hosting a workshop?! Woman, you’re the WOMAN! Hehehe… 🙂

ZMM : Yeh! But most woman also can multi task, given the opportunity.. 🙂

13. jesslyn - May 10, 2007

You are great lar, got so many nursing tips!

ZMM : Thanks.. 🙂

14. Jan - May 10, 2007

wow, you are great at multi-tasking ah!!! li hai li hai

ZMM : I’m a woman mah.. Woman can multitask. That’s why God made men without mammary glands. 😛

15. contended mum - May 10, 2007

Wah say, you really good ya, breastfeeding hand free and hosting worshop. Good on you! Salute you.

ZMM : I didn’t want to do it, but because I have to sit there for more than 3hrs, I have to be innovative.

16. Malaika's mummy - May 10, 2007

I wish I had started blogging earlier. Was having difficulties BF Malaika. Got so many nursing tips here.

ZMM : It’s not too late. You know you’ll have a support group when no. 2 comes.

17. syn - May 10, 2007

ah, will think of this for nxt baby. i used to hold on to rye li with one arm while the other one typing/surfing on the pc in the earlier months. luckily, she was a small baby. after that, I used the sling.

ZMM : Sling for breast feeding her? Aaah.. that’s a good idea too. But to sit down in a work bench and feed, I think the nursing pillow is probably the best option.

18. ShannonC. - May 10, 2007

wei, u not scared the other parties can see ar?
😀

ZMM : No webcam.. so cannot see.

19. Sasha - May 10, 2007

eh macam PPP . haha

Eh they cannot see ah ?

ZMM : Should start PPP hor me? Cannot see b’cos no Webcam

20. milkmaid - May 10, 2007

Great you can do 2 things at the same time, last time Aiden so wiggly, I had to hold him most of the time. I had a colleague who could have dinner and b/feed at the same time. How ah?

ZMM : My trick it only feed her when she’s really hungry. Or else, she’ll wiggle and get distracted easily.

21. Sabrina - May 10, 2007

That looks handy. I think I will get one when I have my 2nd bb.Hehe..

ZMM : Check out the Bobby pillow also.. seems more functional uses than this.

22. Giddy Tiger - May 10, 2007

I used the Lollipop nursing pillow last time and it works fine too. But not when baby is big. The nursing pillow is also useful in the first few days after delivery.
My friend in US tells me she has a hands-free kit for milk expression. 😛

ZMM : Oh yeah, they have this bra which can hold the pump! But I don’t need those, I use the table to hold the pumps if I needed to be hands free.. 😛

23. dancing queen - May 10, 2007

Wow, you’re fantastic – can really multitask! I bet no men can do half of what you were doing. And they can’t even breastfeed! Salute to you! 😀

ZMM : I actually told my husband, if it was him who had to breast feed, he would have quit the 1st week.
1st he can’t endure the pain, then he won’t go through all the trouble to do this.

24. babykhong - May 10, 2007

I had one (a friend lent it to me) which is different from yours, a pillow type. The first two months feeding was easy. Now I don’t dare to use on Shay anymore because she moves a lot!!! I used it when I had to feed Brae….worked wonders!!!

ZMM : Zaria moves a lot too.. but b’cos the other side of the pillow is the table, even if she turned the other side, she won’t fall. 😛

25. Yvonne - May 10, 2007

Wah Wah Wah…. Geng!! Zaria could lay still still throughout the process?? Ooh.. I look at the pic it reminds me of my BF time.. only wished I dont have to work and could prolong the BF duration….

ZMM : The trick is I feed her when she’s very very hungry, then she won’t wiggle around. If not, she is easily distracted and will be turning here and there.

26. mott - May 10, 2007

talk about multi-tasking!!

champion mum u are!!!!

ZMM : *ahem*.. where’s the medal huh? At least I should get something from my husband right?

27. Min - May 10, 2007

I got a few questions!! can i ask ?
1. will your breast hurt with baby is sucking?
ZMM : First few days yes, but after 1st week, your breast toughened.. won’t hurt any more.
2.will your cup size increase?
ZMM : 2 size up! But after you finished.. maybe 3 size down. All the fat from the breast will be used up to make milk
3.will your boobies go out of shape?
ZMM : I don’t think so.
4.will milk leak out ?
ZMM : Yes, esp when it’s feeding time and you are thinking about baby. Your brain will send the wrong signal to your boobs and they’ll start leaking. But it doesn’t leak big time. Read my earlier post, it tells you more..

Sorry, i’m silly! but i’ve always been wondering!!

28. Min - May 10, 2007

when baby is sucking i mean

29. jazzmint - May 10, 2007

wahh…this is cool, why i never know bout it’s existence

ZMM : When it’s time for no. 3.. do remember about this. 😛

30. may - May 10, 2007

I wonder if that pillow is big enough for men to lie on too… *cough* *cough*

ZMM :
*choked on my tea*
pppppbbbbbbtttt!
Ka ka ka ka ka ka..
*write down My Brest Friend as May’s wedding present*

31. kingswife - May 10, 2007

May, you also want to mutli-task ah? 😆

32. sesame - May 10, 2007

You super mummy! Can do so many things at work and still breastfeed Zaria. *kowtow to you*

33. michelle - May 10, 2007

Looks like a supermom, hosting and breastfeeding at the same time. What if baby cry…wouldn’t everyone hears it.

Once I was hosting and Emily cried, I had to mute my phone but someone ask me a question. I had to pause…so pai seh.

34. winn - May 10, 2007

lol @ may….u very geng la. doing 3 things at a time.
one question. can a mother breast feed 2 kids at the same time? one with left breast and another right

35. chooi peng - May 11, 2007

You are so ‘keng’ la… Salute !!!!

36. debbie - May 11, 2007

Hey, you are really a great nursing mummy!!!

37. Julian - May 11, 2007

Now that’s what I call MULTI-TASKING! 😀

38. mott - May 11, 2007

btw….HAPS HAPS HAPS HAPS MAMA’S DAY!!!!!!!!

39. laundryamah - May 12, 2007

Memang deserve award for Mother’s Day! Happy Mothers Day! Salute!

40. A for Ah May and yummy food « All About Zara and Zaria - May 12, 2007

[…] your guardian Angel will give you more Apple stuff you desire (and at the same time tossing in A My Breast Friend for your multitasking […]

41. Mommy to Chumsy - May 12, 2007

Wow…..you are great!! When Zaria is able to read this, she’ll be soooo proud of her mommy 😉

42. sue - May 12, 2007

Hey, really useful… I use a pillow for it. And nursing while driving too sometimes, when Izac kicks up a fuss and I’m in a rush :S

43. seefei - May 18, 2007

hahaha… finally get to have a peek at one of the fantastic duo.

44. allyfeel - May 21, 2007

Hehehe….so creative. I got one of those pillow in the recent sales, hope to make use of it when no.2 comes. Looks like it’s quite useful. 🙂

45. wendy adams - January 19, 2008

hello my name is wendy i have justhad my first baby her name i katherlene wheni was in hospital i had a problem getting wendy to lache on it took me 4 gos to get it right been showen by the midwife but now that i am home i have no problems getting wendy to take my brest when i feed heit is a wounderful felling when i brest feed her ok that is all 4 now by from wendy

46. ferdinan - July 13, 2010

i like breastfeeding,, good post ,,,,


Leave a Reply

  • test

  • test

